In High School golf are coaches prohibited from talking to players during a match? If they are is their a penalty?
Posted on 4/27 11:16 AM | IP: Logged
8-1/24 Advice Given by Team Coach or Captain
Q. A team competition is being played, and in the conditions the Committee has not authorized captains or coaches to give advice under the Note to Rule 8. A non-playing coach or captain gives advice during a round to one of the members of his team. What is the ruling?
A. There is no penalty. However, the player should take action to stop this irregular procedure. If he does not do so, he should, in equity (Rule 1-4), incur a penalty of loss of hole in match play or two strokes in stroke play in view of the purpose of Rule 8-1.
Conditions of Team Competition Stipulate Who Is Authorized to Give Advice — See 8/1. Team Captain Authorized to Give Advice; Whether Advice May Be Given While Playing — See 8/2. Status of Team Captain or Coach — See 33-1/11.5.