4th and 12. QB for team A fumbles the ball forward from 2 yards short of the stakes. Goes out of bounds 4 yards past the stakes. Does the offense get a 1st down?
Posted on 9/9 11:22 PM | IP: Logged
DELETED - Until you have read and can follow the rules for this forum, please do not respond to another post.
This post was edited on 9/10 9:30 AM by FBRef
Posted on 9/10 12:29 AM | IP: Logged
I was told that in high school there is not a forward fumble rule but there is in college and the pros. My rule book is at school (good place for it!) and I tried to look on line last night, but no luck. We still had a chance to recover before it went out of bounds...just didn't make the play.
This post was edited on 9/10 8:07 AM by Moch77
Posted on 9/10 8:05 AM | IP: Logged
Originally posted by Moch77: 4th and 12. QB for team A fumbles the ball forward from 2 yards short of the stakes. Goes out of bounds 4 yards past the stakes. Does the offense get a 1st down?
Yes, the offense gets a first down.
We play under NFHS rules, not NCAA or NFL rules. They have different rules regarding fumbles, who can recover them, etc.
Posted on 9/10 9:32 AM | IP: Logged
Tough rule...has there ever been any movement on disallowing the advancement of a fumble by the offense?
Posted on 9/10 9:42 AM | IP: Logged
Not to my knowledge. It's just part of the game. I've seen a lot of kids fumble the football but I've never seen one intentionally fumble it in an effort to can an advantage. That's why the rule was put in at the collegiate and pro levels. This wasn't even an issue in the NFL until Kenny Stabler came along, if you remember that play.