I saw this one in a college game this weekend, and was wondering how the rule would be applied in a high school game.
Team A has possession, and the down is 4th and five yards to go. Team A lines up with a spread punt formation, with a split end to the left who backs off the line of scrimage, making the tackle on his side, wearing number 11 eligible. With 7 players on the line of scrimage, team A takes the snap to the "protector" who rolls left and throws a completion to the tackle wearing number 11 for a gain of twelve yards. Is this a legal play to run. What are the exact rules about this (eligible numbers on the offense line in a punt situation).
Posted on 11/8 7:47 PM | IP: Logged
If #11 is initially covered up by the end, he is ineligible throughout the down because he is in the game under the numbering exception.