ShopMobileRadio RSSRivals.com Yahoo! Sports


Ask the Ref
Register User Options
Site: Forum:


Post New topic Post New Poll Post Reply   Page 1

Previous Topic | Next Topic | Back to Threads
A player gets confused and begins to take a shot at his opponents basket from right underneath. After he leaves the ground he realizes what he has done and throws the ball off the backboard, then catches it and comes down. Traveling?

Another similar question. Player A doesnt realize his mistake and shoots the ball. His teammate reacts quickly and leaps up and swats the ball away in a move that would be basket interference. Either on the balls downward arc or after the ball contacts the backboard. Is this basket interference (goal tending)? Two points for the other team?



Posted on 1/6 1:20 PM | IP: Logged

#1, throwing the ball at the opponent's basket is NOT a shot. What you describe is NOT a shot attempt. If he were fouled as he did this, he would not get 2 FTs.

Throwing the ball against the opponent's backboard is the same as throwing it to the floor. If he has already used his dribble, then the violation would be a double dribble.

It's not traveling as you can't travel unless you're holding the ball.

If he hasn't dribbled, then it would be legal to throw the ball off the opponent's backboard.

To your second question, anytime the ball is touched while it is in or above the cylinder, it's basket interference. It makes no difference how the ball got there. If there's an OOB player and the thrower throws to ball toward the rin, it's BI if anyone tpouches it while it's in the cylinder.

Posted on 1/6 10:19 PM | IP: Logged

Thank you. Clarification obtained.

As to you statement of not being able to travel unless you're holding the ball-if a player throws the ball in the air and then runs three steps and catches it without another player touching it is it not traveling?



Posted on 1/11 12:02 PM | IP: Logged

No, it's not.

When a player throws or bats the ball to the floor, it's the start of a dribble. If he touches the ball before it touches the ground, it's an illegal dribble.

The definition of traveling says, "moving a foot or feet in any direction in excess of prescribed limits while HOLDING the ball."

Posted on 1/11 3:01 PM | IP: Logged

Hmmmmm. I've never seem it called illegal dribble, only traveling.



Posted on 1/12 6:56 PM | IP: Logged

Previous Topic | Next Topic | Back to Threads

Post New topic Post New Poll Post Reply Page 1

LATEST NEWS




Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
Site-specific editorial/photos WashingtonPreps.com. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

Statistical information 2007 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.